top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarletta Skipworth

Why Self-care is Important to me.




Why is self-care so important to me? In all honesty, itโ€™s important to me because I know the benefits of it.

Letโ€™s first start with the definition of self-care that I often refer to: โ€œ๐’๐ž๐ฅ๐Ÿ-๐œ๐š๐ซ๐ž ๐ข๐ฌ ๐ญ๐ก๐ž ๐ฆ๐ข๐ง๐๐ฌ๐ž๐ญ, ๐š๐œ๐ญ๐ข๐ฏ๐ข๐ญ๐ข๐ž๐ฌ, ๐ฉ๐ซ๐š๐œ๐ญ๐ข๐œ๐ž๐ฌ ๐š๐ง๐ ๐ก๐š๐›๐ข๐ญ๐ฌ ๐ฐ๐ž ๐›๐ซ๐ข๐ง๐  ๐ญ๐จ ๐›๐ž๐š๐ซ ๐š๐ ๐š๐ข๐ง๐ฌ๐ญ ๐ฌ๐ญ๐ซ๐ž๐ฌ๐ฌ, ๐ฎ๐ง๐ก๐š๐ฉ๐ฉ๐ข๐ง๐ž๐ฌ๐ฌ, ๐ข๐ฅ๐ฅ๐ง๐ž๐ฌ๐ฌ, ๐๐ž๐ฉ๐ซ๐ž๐ฌ๐ฌ๐ข๐จ๐ง ๐š๐ง๐ ๐ฆ๐š๐ง๐ฒ ๐ฆ๐จ๐ซ๐ž ๐ง๐ž๐ ๐š๐ญ๐ข๐ฏ๐ž emotions...โ€โฃ

September 2019 is when it all began (at least thatโ€™s what I recall). I had a lot of work stress, I was still grieving the loss of my dad, it seemed everyone around me was dealing with some HEAVY stuff, etc and it ALL just became to much to bear. All I remember is constantly feeling like my heart was racing; constantly checking my heart rate through an app; constantly feeling like I was going to die; constantly being afraid and not being able to listen to any BAD news; constantly crying, constantly being afraid to be alone, not being able to be around loud noises; trying various herbal supplements (St. Johnโ€™s Wart, etc) to help me โ€œrelaxโ€; constantly not being able to sleep and Melatonin becoming my BFF; constantly jumping up in the middle of the night suddenly; constant ER visits; constant urgent care visits...THE LIST GOES ON!

I was reluctant and didnโ€™t want to accept what they were saying, but after hearing the SAME thing from many doctors, I decided to do a lot of research on my own. After my own research, finally accepted that I was suffering from anxiety.

Finally, I decided to meet with a therapist and I must say, the best decision that I could have made! The techniques and strategies, as well as the time to just put โ€œitโ€ all on the table. And let me say this, therapy can be beneficial if you go into it openly and you allow yourself to be vulnerable.

From there, I understood why self-care had become my platform 2 years prior. It became my platform, not only to encourage others to practice self-care, but also to make sure that I was taking care of me! I needed to slow down and P.L.A.N (Practice Loving And Nurturing) myself!!! My PLAN included implementing yoga, meditation, lots of praying/fasting, LOTS of listening to sermons/podcasts AND several other practices that were specific to my personal self-care journey. Listen, self-care is so important, and itโ€™s not just a BUZZ word or a TREND!! Self-care is a REAL thing and those who are also on this journey can attest to this. Itโ€™s not a walk in the park, or a one time thing. Itโ€™s soul searching; itโ€™s being honest with self; itโ€™s spending time alone and attempting to figure โ€œitโ€ out; itโ€™s digging deep and exposing yourself, then taking โ€œALL OF THATโ€ and doing something with it. There has to be an action attached to self-care! It canโ€™t just be a thought. Self-care is an ongoing journey, AND yes itโ€™s that deep! Some days are better than others, but you learn to celebrate those victories and keep going!

So as I said before, self-care is important to me because I know the benefits and how it has truly helped me continue to LIVE. You can live as well. Take it one day at a time and know that youโ€™re not alone!

-Cee๐Ÿ’•


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page